Working Hard or Hardly Working

As a second semester college senior who has already been accepted into grad school, the intense pressure to get straight A’s and suffer to juggle internships, tedious work, and extracurriculars has dwindled down to a low simmer.

BURNT OUT

BURNT OUT

I have a handful of classes this semester and only one is required, genetics, while the rest are filling my time and upper division science requirements. In the past I have struggled with working hard in classes I hate or don’t feel are applicable to my life, however since this is the last semester at the end of long road of working hard I feel like I owe it to myself to work at least a little.

found in a cubicle of the library....

found in a cubicle of the library….

This can prove itself difficult when I must sit through lectures I have seen three or four times, such as presentations about vitamin A deficiency and blindness. I respect the problem and the researchers trying to stop it on a global scale but I swear to god if I have to look at 90 minutes of slides on the matter one more time I will get up and leave (seriously there are only so many pictures of aging eyeballs and carrots a person can take during one lecture).

I just can’t wait to begin studying things I love. I have worked hard to get to this point, studying chemistry and biology and physics, etc… and it’s about time I get to have fun :)

oocyte development: awesome. photosynthesis: not so awesome

oocyte development: awesome. photosynthesis: not so awesome

Memorizing anatomy or disease pathways are much clearer to me when applied to something I deal with regularly, like an animal. Also cool slides and microscopes help (see picture above from Bio 1AL).

Professors I can relate to (like veterinarians and their colleagues) are much easier to listen to and learn from. Not sociology professors who flaunt their gold sequined high tops in class and ramble about how they are blessed with more insightful ideas about inequality than anyone else. Stop it. Stop it now. Nobody here wants to hear you rant and most of them are playing iPhone games or thinking about their next meal anyway (the travesty of undergraduate education).

I finish this post early since the lecture today in public health is about viruses and those are awesome. See, even I have standards ;)

Have you ever hated a class? Do you find that it’s hard to focus on uninteresting classes?

About Tiana

I started this blog as a way to share my adventures as I tackle the end of undergraduate studies and the beginning of vet school. This is just one of the many ways I distract myself from rigorous classes :)
This entry was posted in College Ramblings, Uncategorized, undergrad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts, ideas and inspirations; go ahead and comment! :)

