Oh, so you’re going to vet school?

Whenever anyone finds out you’re going to vet school their first response is usually one of the following:

“oh wow, so you like animals??” (I was actually asked this yesterday… and then it digressed to “You know, I just got this baby turtle. Let me get your number cause you should definitely come over some time and check it out.” Refraining from all snide comments here…)

“why aren’t you going to med school?” (see below image)

according to Tufts, thank you very much 😉

“I’ve heard that it’s, like, much harder to get into vet school than med school.” (yes, thank you and now I’m very much done with that application process. May I please change the subject before I begin to suffer from VMCAS PTSD?)

and my all time favorite…

“OMG really?! Soooo I have this cat…. (insert melodramatic reenactment of the sounds said cat makes at 4 a.m.)

Casual dogs walking by me are like neon post-it notes reading “hip dysplasia,” “stress hot spots,” etc… you get the picture, I’m a huge nerd and drive my friends crazy.

 

If I had a dollar for every time I received one of these responses I could probably pay for vet school… haha yeah right, maybe indulge in a Trader Joe’s shopping spree. Basically, if you really want to ask me questions about vet school I appreciate creativity. Ask “what is your favorite animal? “what is the funniest thing you’ve seen in an x-ray/poop/vomit?” “You are stuck on a deserted island; would you prefer a sea turtle to deliver bottled messages, a loyal tiger companion, or maybe a lookout eagle?” and the list continues, you get the idea.

About Tiana

I started this blog as a way to share my adventures as I tackle the end of undergraduate studies and the beginning of vet school. This is just one of the many ways I distract myself from rigorous classes :)
This entry was posted in Animal Stories, Uncategorized, undergrad and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts, ideas and inspirations; go ahead and comment! :)

