Part III: GRE test taking

I took it twice. It was a blast (<–THIS IS A LIE). The photo below is after taking it the second time: the first socialization in months aka cocktails with my favorite parents.

never taking it again. EVER

never taking it again. EVER

The first time I took it after studying for a month (over winter break) and wasn’t adequately prepared. I also was a little shell-shocked at the intensity of the testing center; picture airport-esque security protocols. The second time was at the end of the worst summer ever. In addition to studying for the GRE, I was working at a vet clinic, taking statistics, volunteering at the rehab center, working at a jumping spider research lab, and writing my personal statement. I was over scheduled, but I work well under pressure so it is what it is.

all the knowledge... it's LEAKING OUT MY EARS

all the knowledge… it’s LEAKING OUT MY EARS

Anyway, I took the Kaplan program and used my “score guarantee” when I took it a second time (this feature was so awesome because I got to focus on harder topics the second time around). I decided to spend the money on this because it was really worth it to me to understand how the test worked. I like feeling extra ready for important situations (except for maybe today when I forgot a fork and must eat my salad with a spoon. Great planning, Tiana). The instructors were super helpful and definitely took extra time to help me on subjects that I struggled with.. aka statistics. Concurrent enrollment in the GRE study group and Statistics at UC Berkeley’s summer session (required for UC Davis) greatly helped boost my math scores.

I’m very glad I decided to take it twice, even though I was initially torn.  Getting into vet school is difficult and having a higher percentile, especially for Davis, is important for getting the school’s attention. Vet schools would only discover my appealing nerdy sass during the interview/assessment phase so I had to score well to get that chance… Lucky them.

If you have any questions about how I studied for the test or tips on taking it, please feel free to contact me! Best of luck to you all 🙂

Also, check out my earlier posts about the Pre-Vet Checklist:

I: Experience

II: Extracurriculars and School

About Tiana

I started this blog as a way to share my adventures as I tackle the end of undergraduate studies and the beginning of vet school. This is just one of the many ways I distract myself from rigorous classes :)
This entry was posted in College Ramblings, Pre-Vet Checklist, Pre-Vet Tips, Uncategorized, undergrad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Part III: GRE test taking

  1. sazari1992 says:

    My goodness, I love you. Definitely eaten salad with my fingers before – forks are far too easy to forget for such an important utensil 🙂

  2. Pingback: Part IV: Personal Statement | One Bite at a Time

I'd love to hear your thoughts, ideas and inspirations; go ahead and comment! :)

