Caffeine Addiction: A blessing and a curse

sometimes I make coffee milkshakes and then compeletely cover them with chocolate chips, walnuts and coconut...

sometimes I make coffee milkshakes and then completely cover them with chocolate chips, walnuts and coconut…

This semester I have come to realize that coffee is better than oxygen. Well, maybe not but it is extremely close. Do they make caffeinated oxygen?

A combination of things have all lead to the addition of iced lattes to my daily routine. These include Peet’s Coffee and Tea now offering almond milk, my purchase of a plastic to-go coffee cup (have a medium-sized cup, order a small, they still give you a medium… and free caramel if you’re in a walking boot!!), and having friends who work at coffee shops or are already addicted.

Philz coffee, also delicious

Philz coffee, also delicious

Iced coffee makes lectures more exciting, and this is not only because of the satisfying, albeit condescending, crinkling sound the ice makes when swirled. It’s a cold burst of energy and joy.

Anyway, if you have not experienced the beauty that is the iced, almond milk, vanilla latte then I must insist that you do. My treat. Except I’ve had one already today and I physically start to shake and get really excited about everything shiny after more than 2 cups of coffee so maybe tomorrow?

Coffee drinking is also a social event. Getting a coffee is time to get to know someone, laugh about the girl in front of you who demands exactly an inch of soy foam, or just enjoy a beautiful day. Honestly, I came to UC Berkeley for good conversations, and over a cup of coffee I have experienced some of the best and most insightful (toss in a gluten-free, vegan muffin and BAM instant friends).

I have the best friends

I have the best friends

I also would like to send a quick thank you to everyone who has reached out to me lately, be it via text, kombucha, or just an exuberant wave hello. I really have the best friends (other than coffee) and am extremely thankful for them. 🙂

Also, does anyone else eat their apples like this or am I insane… It kinda looks like a heart??

all this caffeine and genetics reading is getting to me....

all this caffeine and genetics reading is getting to me….

About Tiana

I started this blog as a way to share my adventures as I tackle the end of undergraduate studies and the beginning of vet school. This is just one of the many ways I distract myself from rigorous classes :)
This entry was posted in College Ramblings, Uncategorized, undergrad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Caffeine Addiction: A blessing and a curse

  1. Sarah says:

    Gahh that milkshake!!

I'd love to hear your thoughts, ideas and inspirations; go ahead and comment! :)

