Cooties

My family taught my dog to eat from a spoon like a person and we’re damn proud of it (he also eats corn on the cob with dainty bites and tip-toes though puddles so we basically raised a hunting dog debutante).

We share snacks a lot. I also believe in the 5-second rule, it boosts your immune system.

IMG_1748

he likes coconut water

In a society where pet obesity is as problematic as human obesity I am very careful about what my pets, and I, eat. I fed praying mantids ground hamburger meat, made custom diets for my rats out of cereal, molasses, and tofu (I actually tried it one time cause it smelled awesome… smell is not always correlated to taste), and my dog gets a combination of meat, essential vitamins, and other greens. As with anything, diets are often suggested by a veterinarian  based on a dog’s health and age so I am not saying this is the ideal nutritional profile for any dog. <–Disclaimer 🙂

IMG_2059

I would never share their food with them, though…  initially my dogs enjoyed a raw diet (intriguing yet gross). I basically had anatomy lab on rabbits, chickens, and turkeys before the age of 12.

Now he’s an old man, though, and we cook him chicken with rice and pumpkin so his stomach doesn’t sound like a little ogre.

stoner dog face

he always looks like a stoner, or like he just had a dose of acepromazine

found in with all the chicken necks...ew

found in with all the chicken necks…ew

Short post today, I have a paper to write on the effects of gender discrimination on maternal health care in urban slums. Be jealous.

About Tiana

I started this blog as a way to share my adventures as I tackle the end of undergraduate studies and the beginning of vet school. This is just one of the many ways I distract myself from rigorous classes :)
This entry was posted in Animal Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cooties

  1. Sarah says:

    Wait that paper actually sounds awesome. Will you send it to me? Spring break reading haha

I'd love to hear your thoughts, ideas and inspirations; go ahead and comment! :)

